How It Works

Boarding Schools

How long are residential placements?

The length of the placement varies according to the school you have selected, and can last from a minimum of one week to an entire academic year. The academic year in England is divided into three trimesters, just like in France. We call them ‘terms’ and they are organised accordingly:

1st term: September to January

2nd term: January to March

3rd term: April to July

What are the registration deadlines?

These dates are flexible. They can be fixed according to your schedule, at any time during the academic year. The holiday calendar in England is different from that in France. This means that your child can attend a placement during his or her school holidays, and still follow a normal course programme with English pupils. He or she will join a class appropriate to his or her age, and study alongside British fellow-students.

Will my child have the same schedule as the other children?

Your child will spend the day with their class attending all lessons. They can also participate in the wide array of extracurricular activities on offer, which are inclusive and part of the DNA of each establishment. There is even the possibility of joining a team, and defending the school’s colours in athletic competitions!

What subjects will they study?

According to their age and academic level your child will study literature, history, geography, and science, as well as more specific subjects like technology and biology, and artistic pursuits like drawing and music.

Is a particular level of English required?

There is no minimum level required by the establishments themselves. That said, some boarding schools ask for a certificate and/or a level test in order to place children into the classes that are best suited to their abilities. All the schools we have selected offer pedagogical resources adapted to children with an elementary level of English. Each new arrival is mentored by a student at the school, who provides friendship and guidance during their stay. For children who wish to refine their English, some of our establishments offer specific classes in English reinforcement for non-bilinguals, so that they can progress more rapidly.

Will my child receive a level certificate at the end of their placement?

All children who meet the age requirement can take the IELTS (International English Language Testing System). This level test, recognized all over the world, is valid for a two-year period. This can be especially useful if your child wishes to pursue their studies in England later on.

What are the means of transport for arriving at the school?

You can ask Little British Schools to help coordinate the journey to the school. The schools are easily accessible from the Newcastle, Manchester and Leeds Bradford airports, as well as by regional trains. Whether your child travels alone or with you, and whatever your means of transport, each school will offer you the best possible welcome by designating an official from the school to pick up your child from the station or the airport.

Do I need to purchase health insurance for my child?

Each school has an infirmary on site, and they all have basic medical facilities. However, it is required that your child be protected by a valid health insurance policy whose coverage includes overseas visits.

How can I receive regular updates on my child?

The educational directors attach the greatest importance to the well-being of each child, and make sure that they thrive in the school. All the students have telephones and computers that the children can use during their free time. During your child’s placement, I will also be in frequent contact with the school to ensure that all is going well with their immersion.

Is it possible to visit the schools before enrolling my child?

Yes, absolutely – you are welcome to visit the site before enrolling! Boarding schools take great pleasure in inviting potential students and their parents to explore their grounds. These visits are generally guided by the academic director and current students.

What is the next step?

If you’d like further information, you can contact us by email or by telephone. I’m available to respond to all your questions. We can also schedule a meeting to chat face to face. Once your decision is made, you need only provide the dates that suit you best and I will take care of organising the entire placement.

Les modalités d’inscription

Boarding Schools

– Quelle est la durée du séjour ?

La durée du séjour est variable en fonction de l’école choisie et peut s’étendre d’une semaine minimum à une année scolaire entière. L’année scolaire en Angleterre se divise en trois trimestres comme en France, on les appelle les « terms », ils se divisent de cette manière :
1er term : septembre à janvier
2e term : janvier à mars
3e term : avril à juillet

– Quelles sont les dates d’inscription ?

Les dates sont flexibles. Elles sont fixées à votre convenance à tout moment pendant l’année scolaire. Le calendrier des vacances en Angleterre diffère du calendrier français. Ainsi, une inscription pour la période correspondant aux vacances scolaires françaises permettra à votre enfant de suivre le programme de cours des écoliers anglais. Il rejoindra selon son âge une classe où il étudiera avec ses camarades britanniques.

– Mon enfant aura-t-il le même emploi du temps que tous les autres enfants ?

Votre enfant passera la journée en classe et assistera à tous les cours. Il pourra également participer à l’ensemble des activités extrascolaires proposées au sein de l’école. Elles sont fédératrices et font totalement partie de l’ADN de l’établissement.  Il aura même la possibilité de faire partie d’une équipe pour défendre les couleurs de l’école pendant les tournois sportifs !

– Quels sont les matières au programme ? 

Selon son âge et son niveau scolaire votre enfant étudiera la littérature, l’histoire-géographie, la physique mais aussi des matières plus spécifiques comme la technologie, la biologie ou encore les domaines artistiques avec le dessin, la musique etc…

– Un niveau d’anglais est-il exigé ? 

Il n’y a pas de niveau minimum demandé par les établissements. Toutefois, certains inernats souhaitent une attestation et/ou un test de niveau  afin d’orienter les enfants dans la classe qui correspondra le mieux à leurs compétences. Toutes les écoles sélectionnées offrent des ressources pédagogiques adaptées aux enfants qui sont débutants en anglais. Chaque nouvel arrivant sera parrainé par un élève de l’école qui jouera un rôle de camarade privilégié tout au long du séjour. Pour les enfants qui souhaitent se perfectionner, certains établissements proposent des classes spécifiques en anglais renforcé pour les non-bilingues afin de progresser plus rapidement.

– Mon enfant recevra-t-il un certificat d’aptitude à la fin du séjour ?

Tous les enfants qui ont l’âge requis peuvent passer l’IELTS (International English Language Testing System).  Ce test de niveau, reconnu dans le monde entier, est valable pour une durée de deux ans. Il sera d’autant plus utile si votre enfant désire poursuivre ses études en Angleterre par la suite.

– Quels sont les moyens de transport pour arriver à l’école ?

Vous pouvez solliciter l’aide de LITTLE British Schools pour organiser les modalités du voyage jusqu’à l’arrivée au collège.  Les écoles sont facilement accessibles depuis les aéroports de Newcastle, Manchester et Leeds Bradford, ainsi que par  le train régional.  Que votre enfant vienne seul ou que vous choisissiez de l’accompagner, et quelque soit votre mode de transport, chaque école vous réservera le meilleur accueil en déléguant un responsable du collège pour attendre votre enfant à la gare ou à l’aéroport.

– Est-il nécessaire que je souscrive une assurance médicale pour mon enfant ?

Chaque école dispose d’une infirmerie sur place et les écoles offrent toutes une protection médicale de base. Il est toutefois indispensable que votre enfant soit couvert par une assurance santé en cours de validité dans laquelle le risque « séjour à l’étranger » est bien inclus.

– Comment avoir des nouvelles régulièrement de mon enfant ?

Les responsables éducatifs attachent une grande importance au bien-être de chaque enfant et s’assurent de son épanouissement au sein de l’école. Toutes les écoles ont des téléphones et des ordinateurs que les élèves peuvent utiliser pendant leur temps libre. Tout au long du séjour de votre enfant, je serai moi-même souvent en contact avec l’école pour m’informer du bon déroulement de son immersion.

– Est-il possible de visiter les écoles avant d’inscrire mon enfant ?

Oui absolument, il n’y a aucun problème à se rendre sur place avant l’inscription. Les boarding schools prennent un grand plaisir à accueillir l’enfant et ses parents pour faire une visite en amont. Les visites sont en générale faites par le responsable pédagogique et des élèves de l’internat.

– Quelle est l’étape suivante pour en savoir plus ?

Si vous souhaitez avoir des informations complémentaires, vous pouvez nous contacter par email ou par téléphone. Je me tiens à votre disposition pour répondre à toutes vos questions. Nous pouvons également convenir de nous rencontrer  pour discuter de vive voix. Une fois votre décision prise, il vous suffira d’arrêter les dates qui vous conviennent le mieux et je m’occuperai entièrement de l’organisation du séjour.