English Boarding School Life

The English Boarding School system is renowned worldwide. It strikes the perfect balance between historical tradition, childhood adventure and education. These elegant boarding schools have a unique take on educating and moulding young children into polite, confident and capable individuals. The care and attention that goes into providing a home-from-home atmosphere is unlike anywhere else in the world. The diverse variety of available activities allows children to constantly broaden their interests and strengths, from canoeing in the nearby river to joining the school jazz band. Children are encouraged to be themselves, and to be confident and comfortable in new surroundings.

Houses

In a time-honored tradition, the schools all work around a ‘house’ system in which every child is welcomed into an established house group. This becomes a very important part of boarding school life, a vital mix of competition and companionship. Each child experiences the benefits of healthy competition while working closely with their friends. If you have read or seen Harry Potter, that gives a good idea of how it works!

Small British Boarding School 02

Accommodation

Boarding schools all have their own traditional dormitory houses. Bedrooms are shared with fellow boarders, sleeping two to six students per room. Students are invited to decorate and personalise their space and call it their own. Each boarding house has its own kitchen and living area for cooking, working, relaxing and socialising.

Boys’ and girls’ boarding houses are always separate and each household is run by a house master who looks after the children, taking care of any problems or worries they may have.

Windermere School hiking

Weekends

Weekends at the boarding schools are just as stimulating as the week days. A wonderful and healthy range of activities and trips will keep your child happy and busy, whether it be a trip to the handsome, historic town of York or a game of cricket on the beach. With so much to offer, even local non-boarders often prefer to stay at weekends.

Ackworth Choir

Food

The boarding schools that I work with put a lot of effort into the meals they provide, knowing that a good diet means energetic, happy children. They start the day with a choice of a traditional cooked English breakfast alongside toast, cereal, porridge or fruit. For meals at lunchtime and supper, there is a wide choice of excellent food, including hot meals, salads and vegetarian dishes, desserts and fresh fruit. The food is always plentiful and of a high standard.

2016-02-04-Nikita-DSC_6748

A typical day at one of our schools:

Wake-up 7am
Breakfast 7 :45am
Registration 8 :30am
Assembly/House Meeting 8 :40am
Lessons 9 :10am
Break 11 :05am
Lessons 11 :20am
Lunch 12 :50pm
Lessons 2 :05pm
After school activities/ free time 4pm
Supper 6pm
Prep /« homework » 6 :30pm
Bedtime Age dependant

La vie dans les internats

Boarding Schools

Le système scolaire anglais des pensionnats jouit d’une renommée internationale. C’est un équilibre parfait qui associe le sens des traditions, le développement et l’apprentissage des enfants, avec un enseignement très performant. Ces écoles ne se distinguent non seulement par la remarquable architecture de leurs bâtiments ; elles défendent une même  conception de l’éducation où la politesse, la confiance en soi, les compétences individuelles sont au coeur des préoccupations. Elles se caractérisent également par leur souci constant de créer une atmosphère sécurisante pour les enfants. Les activités aussi nombreuses que variées (comme la pratique du canoë ou faire partie d’une formation musicale) tiennent constamment l’intérêt des enfants en éveil et contribuent à leur épanouissement. Ils sont tous encouragés à développer leurs qualités personnelles et à profiter spontanément de cette expérience unique à l’étranger.

Les Maisons

Selon une tradition ancestrale, les « Boarding Schools » ou internats sont organisés sur le système des Maisons. Chaque élève est intégré dès son arrivée dans l’une d’entre elles, ce qui lui permet de faire immédiatement partie d’un groupe. C’est un aspect très important de la vie en collectivité dans ce type d’écoles. Il stimule à la fois la camaraderie et favorise l’esprit de compétition. Votre enfant se verra confier des responsabilités au sein du groupe, ce qui l’amènera à faire preuve d’initiatives. Vous pourrez avoir une bonne idée de cette coutume anglaise en vous plongeant dans la saga des livres ou des films « Harry Potter ».

internats

L’hébergement

Les établissements sont tous équipés de chambres classiques qui accueillent entre 2 et 6 personnes. Les enfants sont incités à  décorer et à personnaliser leur espace de vie. Les écoles sont également pourvus d’une salle spacieuse pour cuisiner, travailler,  se détendre et profiter de la compagnie de ses amis. Les garçons et les filles sont toujours répartis en dortoirs séparés. Chaque  groupe est sous la responsabilité d’un professeur qui s’occupe des enfants et veille à ce que tout se déroule bien.

internats
Windermere School hiking

Les week-ends

Ce sont des moments privilégiés ! Votre enfant ne manquera pas d’être occupé grâce à un nombre inouï d’activités et d’excursions à la fois stimulantes et réjouissantes. Il pourra tout aussi bien découvrir par exemple la belle ville historique de York que jouer au cricket sur la plage ou s’adonner au théâtre. Avec autant de choix, même les élèves externes ne souhaitent pas quitter l’école pendant le week-end !

internats

Les repas

Les écoles que j’ai sélectionnées accordent une attention toute particulière à la qualité des produits et partent du principe  qu’une alimentation équilibrée favorise énergie et joie de vivre chez les enfants selon l’adage « d’un esprit sain dans un corps sain ».  La journée commence par un petit déjeuner complet à l’anglaise ou continental agrémenté de toasts, céréales, porridge et fruits frais.

Pour le déjeuner et le dîner, la carte des menus est élaborée avec le souci permanent d’offrir un choix varié : plats chauds ou froids préparés sur place, salades composées, assiettes végétariennes, desserts ainsi que des fruits proposés quotidiennement. Les portions sont servies généreusement et les aliments sont toujours sélectionnés avec un soin particulier pour leur fraîcheur et leurs qualités gustatives.

internats

Déroulement d’une journée type

Réveil : 7H00

Petit déjeuner : 7H45

Appel : 8H30

Inscriptions aux activités de la journée : 8H40

Cours : 9H10

Pause : 11H05

Cours :11H20

Déjeuner :12H50

Cours : 14H05

Activités extrascolaires/Temps libre :16H00

Dîner : 18H00

Devoirs/Études surveillées :18H30

Coucher : Horaire déterminé en fonction de l’âge de l’élève